Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search
FOS Leadership
Share |

2020-2021 Florida Orthopaedic Society Board Members

President - Steve Lucie, MD

The Florida Orthopaedic Society’s President, Dr. Stephen Lucie is based out of Jacksonville, where he has specialized for several years in orthopaedic sports medicine and total joint replacement. His knowledge has led to affiliations with several sports teams, including the Jacksonville Sharks, Jacksonville University, the Bolles School, and the NFL’s Jacksonville Jaguars.  Outside of his work at the Jacksonville Orthopaedic Institute, Dr. Lucie is an avid runner and has contributed his medical knowledge to a bevy of Jacksonville running events.


Past President – Steven Lyons MD

Dr. Steven Lyons, is an internationally renowned expert in advanced joint replacement and arthritis surgery. As a “Who’s Who in Orthopedics,” Dr. Lyons is constantly helping to design and outlay orthopedic technology related to his specialties.  Based in Tampa, Dr. Lyons performs several joint and arthritis procedures, but his main focus at the Florida Orthopaedic Institute is on hip and knee replacement.


1st Vice President - Kevin Farmer MD

Dr. Kevin Farmer is a board certified surgeon with focus in orthopedic sports medicine and a subspecialty in shoulder surgery. He’s a Johns Hopkins graduate who completed his residency in orthopedic surgery from the very same school after receiving his M.D. in 2003. Dr. Farmer is located in Gainesville, Florida and has affiliations with the Malcom Randall Veterans Affairs Medical Center and the Shands Live Oak Regional Medical Center. Dr. Farmer is also a member of several orthopedic organizations. He currently serves as the team physician for the University of Florida Athletic Association and sits on the Board of Directors for the Florida Orthopaedic Society. He has published 12 book chapters and 30 peer-reviewed publications in various clinical journals. 


2nd Vice President –  Larry Halperin, MD


Secretary/Treasurer - Kevin Schrock, MD

Dr. Kevin Shrock is an orthopedic surgeon affiliated with multiple hospitals in the Fort Lauderdale area, namely Broward Health Medical Center and Westside Regional Medical Center. After graduating with a medical degree from Stanford University’s School of Medicine, completed a general surgery internship with Northwestern’s McGaw Medical Center and a residency at Harvard University’s General Hospital Combined Orthopaedic Residency Program. Dr. Shrock has now been in practice for over 20 years.


AAOS BOC Members  

  • David Jason Oberste, MD (2021 – 1st Term) 
  • Stanley Kupiszewski, MD (2021 – 1st Term) 
  • Thomas Bernasek, MD (2023 – 1st Term)
  • Vani Sabesan, MD (2023 – 1st Term)
  • R. Stephen Lucie, MD (2021 – 1st Term)

At-Large Members
  • Hernan Prieto, MD
  • John Lovejoy, III, MD

Health Policy Chair
  • Mark Bromson, MD


FOPAC Chair   

  • Andrew Borom, M.D.  Dr. Borom is a foot & ankle orthopedic surgeon certified by the American Board of Orthopedic Surgery and received his medical degree from University of Virginia School of Medicine.  Dr. Borom has medical licenses in three different states and has been in practice for over 20 years. His expertise in the musculoskeletal system and podiatry were nationally recognized when he graciously performed surgery free of charge for an Iraqi war veteran who was being rejected treatment. Care provided by Dr. Borom is performed out of multiple hospitals including Capital Regional Medical Center, Tallahassee Memorial Healthcare, and the Tallahassee Orthopedic Clinic


FORPG Appointee                 
  • Brian Ziegler, M.D.   Dr. Ziegler is a board certified physician based in Eastern Florida. He specializes in hand an upper extremity conditions out of the local Rockledge Area with Orthopaedics of Brevard. With over 20 years of dedicated practice, Dr. Ziegler has acquired membership in countless national and state medical societies – most notably the American College of Surgeons. Dr. Ziegler attended an accelerated undergraduate medical program at Penn State University before receiving his M.D. with Sidney Kimmel Medical College. In 1996, he received a fellowship at the University of Connecticut to perform hand surgery in conjunction with Hartford Hospital. 
Carrier Advisory Committee 
  • Steven Weber, D.OWith over 20 years of experience, Dr. Steven Weber is a certified orthopedic surgeon who specializes in spinal reconstruction. Dr. Weber has the state of Michigan to thank for his extensive education. He attended undergrad at the University of Michigan and received his M.D. from Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine where he completed his residency before moving to Florida. Dr. Weber operates out of the Orlando Orthopaedic Center and the Health Central Hospital in Central Florida. 

 Diversity Committee

  • Odion Binitie, M.D. 
Program Committee
  • A.J.Shah, M.D.

Membership Committee  

  • Robert Norton, M.D.

  • Region 1: Aaron Guyer, M.D.  (Elected 2018)
  • Region 2: Justin Deen, M.D. (Elected 2018)
  • Region 3: Wade Van Sice, MD (Elected 2019)
  • Region 4: Francisco Schwartz-Fernandes, MD, MBA (Elections 2020)
  • Region 5: Rolando Garcia, Jr., MD (Elections 2020)
Executive Director
  • Fraser Cobbe

Practice Management Consultant

  • Tania Jones


more Calendar

2/11/2021 » 2/13/2021
2020 BONES Society of Florida Annual Meeting in 2021!

5/13/2021 » 5/16/2021
2021 Florida Orthopaedic Society Annual Scientific Meeting

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal