Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search
News & Press: Society News

State Society Commits to Diversity

Friday, August 16, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Diane Berg
Share |

Florida Orthopaedic Society uses annual meeting to announce diversity-focused strategies

Source:  AAOS Now, Published 8/1/2019
David R. Chandler, MD, MHL

 The theme of the Florida Orthopaedic Society (FOS) Annual Scientific Meeting that took place June 20–23 was “Celebrate Diversity in Orthopaedics.” AAOS President Kristy L. Weber, MD, noted during her vice presidential address at the AAOS 2018 Annual Meeting that orthopaedics is the least diverse of all specialties. She said that the U.S. orthopaedic workforce has only 6.1 percent women and 4.8 percent underrepresented minorities. Furthermore, orthopaedic residencies are still the least diverse of all specialties, with only 12 percent to 15 percent females.

At the FOS meeting, incoming FOS President David R. Chandler, MD, MHL, reviewed the FOS mission, vision, and strategic goals. FOS President Brett R. Bolhofner, MD, and the FOS Board of Directors created the strategic goals in 2006, which included: (1) promoting the delivery of culturally competent care, and (2) supporting efforts to diversify the profession and the orthopaedic workforce.

In his 2018 FOS Presidential Acceptance Speech, Dr. Chandler charged FOS to address these strategic goals and embrace diversity by developing an inclusive, respectful culture that encourages participation in orthopaedics by all demographics.

The FOS Board accepted the diversity challenge, and during the Florida Medical Association 2018 Annual Meeting, FOS moved to begin a FOS Diversity Task Force ad hoc committee. The task force established a creative space to generate ideas FOS could enact to achieve its goal and promote culturally competent patient care.

The FOS Diversity Task Force enlisted several contributing members, including Sonya Ahmed, MD; Odion Binitie, MD; Lisa Cannada, MD (chairperson); Dr. Chandler; Sheila Conway, MD; Jennifer Hagen, MD; Jason Oberste, MD; Eddie Powell, MD; and Vani Sabesan, MD. The task force also included Randall Morgan, MD, who is a founding member of the J. Robert Gladden Society. Dr. Sabesan was a driver of the Diversity Task Force and the FOS Annual Meeting Program Committee chairperson. In those positions, Dr. Sabesan was focused the committee and designed the annual meeting to highlight the efforts of the Diversity Task Force.

Read the article



more Calendar

10/8/2020 » 10/10/2020
2020 BONES Society of Florida Annual Meeting

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal