Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search
FOS Leadership
Share |

The Florida Orthopedic Surgeon Profiles


President – George H. Canizares, MD


The current president of the Florida Orthopaedic Society, Dr. Canizares has been serving Florida since graduating from the University of South Florida College of Medicine. 

Currently part of All Florida Orthopaedic Associates, Dr. Canizares was also selected to the NFL Neutral Physician Examiners Panel and served as the team doctor for both the Miami Heat and Miami Sol. Additionally, Dr. Canizares has contributed in developing sports medicine programs in several Pinellas County schools. 

Dr. Canizares works in St. Petersburg, FL.

Past President John Nordt MD


Dr. John Nordt, Florida Orthopaedic Society’s Past President, continues to perform orthopedic surgery after over 40 years in the field. Based in Coral Gables, Florida, he is internationally known for his knowledge of spinal surgery and care. This has placed him amongst surgeons who are commonly faced with complex and challenging spine disorders, fractures and revisions.


In addition to practicing at The Spine Center of Miami, Dr. Nordt is affiliated with several hospitals in the area. Dr. Nordt received his medical degree from the University of Florida College of Medicine.


1st Vice President – David Chandler MD


With over 25 years of experience, Dr. David Chandler has extensive knowledge in spine surgery, spinal rehabilitation, and surgery of disorders regarding the spine. As a member of the Andrews Institute in Gulf Breeze, Florida, Dr. Chandler has been focused on cervical and lumbar injuries and fusions, non-surgical options for adult scoliosis, sport injuries to the spine, and degenerative disorders throughout the cervical, thoracic and lumbar regions.


Dr. Chandler completed his medical degree at the University of Southern California, Los Angeles.


2nd Vice President – Steven Lyons MD


The Florida Orthopaedic Society’s 2nd Vice President, Dr. Steven Lyons, is an internationally renowned expert in advanced joint replacement and arthritis surgery. As a “Who’s Who in Orthopedics,” Dr. Lyons is constantly helping to design and outlay orthopedic technology related to his specialties.


Based in Tampa, Dr. Lyons performs several joint and arthritis procedures, but his main focus at the Florida Orthopaedic Institute is on hip and knee replacement.

Secretary/Treasurer – Steve Lucie MD


Dr. Stephen Lucie is based out of Jacksonville, where he has specialized for several years in orthopaedic sports medicine and total joint replacement. His knowledge has led to affiliations with several sports teams, including the Jacksonville Sharks, Jacksonville University, the Bolles School, and the NFL’s Jacksonville Jaguars.


Outside of his work at the Jacksonville Orthopaedic Institute, Dr. Lucie is an avid runner and has contributed his medical knowledge to a bevy of Jacksonville running events.





AAOS BOC Members  

  • Aaron Guyer, M.D.  (2018-2nd Term)
  • Lawrence Halperin, M.D. (2017)
  • David Cheong, M.D. (2017-1st Term)
  • Kevin Shrock, M.D. (2017- 1st Term)
  • Michael Jablonski, M.D. (2018-1st Term)
  • Douglas Dew, M.D. (2018- 2nd term)

At-Large Members      

  • Stephen Quinnan, M.D.
  • Steven Weber, D.O. (CAC Alternate)

Health Policy Chair      
  • Kevin Farmer, MD

FOPAC Chair   

  • Andrew Borom, M.D.
FORPG Appointee                 
  • Brian Ziegler, M.D.
Carrier Advisory Committee 
  • Maury Fisher, M.D.

Program Committee       

  • To Be Appointed

Membership Committee  

  • Thomas Bernasek, M.D.
  • Region 1: David Jason Oberste, M.D. (Term 5/18)
  • Region 2: Vacant - Election to take place this summer
  • Region 3: Stanley Kupiszewski, M.D (Term 05/18)
  • Region 4: Edwin Melendez, M.D. (Term 05/18)
  • Region 5: Mark Bromson, M.D. (Term 05/18)
Executive Director
  • Fraser Cobbe

Practice Management Consultant

  •  Tania Jones


more Calendar

11/28/2017 » 11/30/2017
2017 Bones Society of Florida Annual Meeting

1/12/2018 » 1/13/2018
2018 FOS/BSOF Coding Seminar

4/14/2018 » 4/17/2018
2018 AAOE Annual Conference

6/21/2018 » 6/24/2018
2018 FOS Annual Scientific Meeting

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal